Sitting ANC Commissioners Sign Up for Two More Years

With the exception of the student-held seats, the full slate of sitting commissioners plan to appear on the November ballot

The role of an advisory neighborhood commissioner (ANC) is not always an easy one: long meetings, heated debates and unending responsibility for problems from trash collection to traffic lights. Yet each of Georgetown's current non-student commissioners plans to appear on the ballot once again in November. ANC commissioners serve two-year terms.

Current commissioners Bill Starrels, Ron Lewis, and Tom Birch have all picked up their ballots, according to the DC Board of Elections & Ethics (DCBOEE).

So have students Craig Cassey, Jr. and Peter Prindiville. As Georgetown Metropolitan pointed out, when Prindiville filed his petition with signatures July 13, he was the second ANC candidate in the entire city to do so.

Commissioner Charles Eason told Patch in an email Thursday that he had just picked up his petition that day. Commissioners Ed Solomon and Jeff Jones both wrote Thursday that they planned to do so shortly. (The DCBOEE website now shows that both Eason and Jones picked up their petitions).

Candidates must secure valid signatures from 25 voters in the same single member district (SMD) in which they are running. The deadline to file petitions is Aug. 8.

Not sure who your ANC Commissioner is or which SMD you live in? Enter your address here. You can learn more about the Georgetown ANC on their website.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something