Another week, another historic look at Georgetown. In a new Patch-wide effort, neighbors can see historic photos of the community paired with current images of the site. Get a pain-free history lesson once a week.
The pictures today are from Smith Row and were taken in June of 1942. The photos by Charles E. Peterson were part of the Historic American Survey. The homes at Smith Row, 3255-3263 N St. got their name from Colonel James Smith. The federal-style homes were built by Walter and Clement Smith in 1815 and are a unique example of an entire row of such complete houses still intact, according to Historic Georgetown: A Walking Tour. Want to see examples elsewhere? Check out other local Then & Now images coming soon to: Ballston, Fairfax City, Oakton, Potomac and North Potomac.
Cultural Tourism D.C.’s walking tour retraces the history of Georgetown’s mansions, estates and cemeteries.
Each year, Cultural Tourism D.C. hosts over one hundred walking and biking tours in DC, during both the spring and fall. Led by Dwane Starlin, a licensed tour guide and one-man performer, the "Georgetown's Mansions, Estates and Cemeteries" walking tour winded around the streets of northern Georgetown, retracing the history of the neighborhood's movers and shakers on Sept. 25. Mount Zion Cemetery/Female Union Band Society Graveyard 27th & Q Streets The tour began at the Female Union Band Society Graveyard (pictured), one of two graveyards comprising the Mount Zion Cemetery. The Dumbarton Street Methodist Episcopal Church purchased the burial land in 1808. Black members of the church formed the Mount Zion Methodist Church in 1816, and the …